American Poker Awards Ceremony Held

American Poker Awards

Maurice Hawkins, Ari Engel, and Jason Mercier were among the select few who were felicitated at the recent third annual Global Poker Index American Poker Awards, jointly presented by PokerStars and the Global Poker Index (GPI). The ceremony was held at the Sofitel Beverly Hills. In total 17 awards were presented to personalities from various aspects of the poker industry.

The Tournament Performance of the Year was scalped by Engel for winning the Aussie Millions Main Event (AU$1.6 Million) after overcoming a field of 732 entries.

Hawkins won the Breakout Performance of the Year Award, for his splendid collection of scores that included four  World Series of Poker (WSOP) Circuit gold rings, along with three of those from Main Events.

The Moment of the Year award fell to Mercier, who kept the entire poker world of fans bedazzled at the 2016 WSOP, by winning two bracelets, one runner-up finish and more.

Engel and Hawkins, along with Lance Bradley were nominated in two categories. Bradley took the Media Content of the Year for "Bob, Charlie and a Life-Changing WSOP Main Event Journey."

The sole winner to receive a standing ovation was veteran Mori Eskandani, who won the Lifetime Achievement Award. Eskandani, a legendary poker-films producer was awarded by Scott, who spoke quite emotionally about the maker.

John Holley took home the Hendon Mob Award for his consistent cashes on the Circuit.

2016 American Poker Award Winners:

  • GPI Player of the Year – David Peters
  • GPI Female Player of the Year – Cate Hall
  • Industry Person of the Year – Sean McCormack
  • Event of the Year – Super High Roller Bowl
  • Tournament Performance of the Year – Ari Engel, 2016 Aussie Millions
  • Moment of the Year – Jason Mercier’s 2016 WSOP
  • Breakout Performance of the Year – Maurice Hawkins
  • Media Person of the Year – Joe Stapleton
  • Poker Media Content of the Year – “Bob, Charlie and a Life Changing WSOP Main Event Journey” by Lance Bradley, PocketFives
  • Mid-Major Circuit of the Year – WSOP Circuit
  • Charitable Imitative of the Year – Dan Smith’s Charity Drive
  • Twitch Streamer of the Year – Jason Somerville
  • Poker Podcast of the Year - Poker Life Podcast with Joe Ingram
  • The Hendon Mob Award - John Holley
  • PocketFives Legacy Award - Cliff Josephy
  • APA Jury Prize - Matt Savage
  • APA Lifetime Achievement – Mori Eskandani