Asakura Yasuyuki holds chip lead in APT Championships Philippines 2017 Final 8 in Main Event

Asakura Yasuyuki

The Main Event of APT Championships Philippines 2017 continued its Day 3 action at the Resorts World Manila with the prime agenda of play, an 8-handed final table. It took eight hours of play for Japan’s Asakura Yasuyuki to get there and lead the way with 2.14M in chips.

Three players who play poker were in the line on Day 3 but sadly none of them made it to the final eight. Avinit Bagri ended on 29th for $2,570, former DPT Main Event champion Imran Khan finished on 26th for $3,430 and Rohit Begwani crashed short of the money.

Day 3 of the Main Event

For Day 3, 57 players returned with many players crashing without a payday including former APT Main Event champion, Ha Duong.

Aso Seitaro ran out of money but since he was guaranteed with bubble protection, he gained a consolation free seat in the subsequent APT Main Event.

Among the Indians, Rohit Begwani was the first one to get eliminated on Day 3 and hit the rails before the money bubble. Another player from the India, Avinit Bagri ended on 29th place and earned $2,570.

The inmost run by any Indian came from Imran Khan, who commenced the day well chipping up a few times. He and Minh Thanh Nguyen were in the opening pot won by Khan without a showdown. Khan then went on to remove short stacked Manh Hung Truong when the latter opened with and Khan snap called with his . The board displayed and Khan took down the pot eradicating Truong from the Main Event.

Khan was finally eliminated at the hands of former APT Main Event Champion Ling Tran. On his last hand, Khan opened to 27,000 and Tran 3-bet to 120,000. Khan declared all-in holding and Tran called tabling . The board ran which queered Khan’s pocket fives with the higher kicker. Tran won the pot eliminating Khan in 26th place for $3,430.

The ensuing chip leader Yasuyuki commenced the day second in chips and went on to dominate the field removing many players early on and soon crossed the million-chip mark. He then went on to eradicate Michael De Leon whose pocket aces were defeated by Yasuyuki’s as he hit a runner-runner flush.

Former APT Main Event champion Linh Tran was running well until the last two tables remained but he couldn’t move further than 18th place as his set of tens on the flop were defeated by Akashi Kosaku’s straight.

Yasuyuki had crossed the 3 Million mark at a point but lost a few pots before he eliminated Byeongcheol Kim in ninth place.

Final Table Chip Counts

1. Asakura Yasuyuki - 2,140,000

2. Mike Takayama - 1,990,000

3. Akashi Kosaku - 1,870,000

4. Keith Seah - 1,290,000

5. SJ Kim - 1,165,000

6. William Te - 1,065,000

7. Noel Araniel - 830,000

8. Anton Del Rosario - 695,000