Let's have a look at today's Poker Nation news post about poker in India.

Newbie Jonas Hagstrom claimed the title at the Mega Millions XVI for a whopping $311,328 and Indian-origin Bhagwan Tejwani made an impressive eighth place for $30,450.

The event had a $1 Million guarantee and was recently hosted at the Bicycle Hotel & Casino in California and featured a strange format with several entry-flights, but each with two different buy-ins of $160 and $550. The differentiation was that just the top five percent from the $160 segment and the top ten percent from the higher price made it to Day 2. There was also a lofty $4,300 buy-in for those wanting to directly proceed to Day 2.

This was what the Swedish Hagstrom opted for. Though costly the decision saw him bag not only his career’s highest score with $311K, but also obtain almost thrice his prior live tournament earnings of $62,000.

Final Table Review

The survivors on Day 2 alone were 108 and with those from earlier flights accumulated a prize pool of $1,854,688.

A bunch of notable figures were in the fray and Massoud Eskandari had the chip lead when the final table started. He further solidified it immediately with two quick eliminations, busting Benjamin Chan with his versus Chan’s all-in preflop.

Hagstrom was also busy gaining chips and gained more traction after knocking out Keyue Wang at sixth place with his overcoming Wang’s .

Three-handed Xian Ruan claimed the lead and a deal was discussed, but collapsed. Play continued and a scary hand that endangered Hagstrom’s tournament life finally concluded Ruan’s run at third place.

Hagstrom had kings when Ruan from the small blind shoved with . It was a nail-biting moment for Hagstrom when the board revealed giving Ruan a pair, but the river turned the tide with a and Ruan was sent packing.

Hagstrom went into heads-up with a lead against Eskandari. The flop with offered Hagstrom a flush draw. The and on the turn and river simply cemented the win.

Final Table Results

1. Jonas Hagstrom - $311,328

2. Xiao Ruan - $167,625

3. Massoud Eskandari - $109,935

4. Larry Serebryany - $82,065

5. Benjamin Nguyen - $63,210

6. Keyue Wang - $49,310

7. Benjamin Chan - $38,765

8. Bhagwan Tejwani - $30,450

9. Raz Mael - $23,400