large indian contingent expected for 2017 wsop

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is only 5 days away. The 48th annual edition of poker festival is set to run from May 30 to July 17, 2017 at the Rio All Suite Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas. The 2017 series will play host to 74 bracelet events featuring buy-ins ranging from $333 up to a whopping $111,111 for the One Drop High Roller. People who play poker frequently will make it to the event.

This time, the WSOP includes some exciting changes, such as the recently announced decision to scrap the November Nine era and crown the ultimate victor during the summer itself. Following the same, the 2017 WSOP main event champion will be declared on July 22.

The starting time for the most of WSOP events remains 11 a.m. and 3 p.m, but for the vast field of No Limit Hold’em events that are scheduled take place on weekends, the starting time will be 10 a.m. and 4pm. To make it even more captivating for players, the WSOP features 8 new events this year, which incude:

  • 1.1.A $10,000 tag team no-limit hold’em event
  1. A $333 online no-limit hold’em event with $333,333 guaranteed prize pool.
  2. “The Giant,” a $365 no-limit hold’em unlimited re-entry event.
  3. “The Marathon,” a $2,620 no-limit hold’em event
  4. A $1,000 super turbo bounty no-limit hold’em event, featuring $300 bounties
  5. A $10,000 pot-limit Omaha eight-or-better championship that begins at 3 p.m.
  6. A $2,500 mixed big-bet event. The tournament will kick off at 3 p.m.
  7. A $3,333 online high roller with unlimited re-entry

The 2017 session becomes much more special this time around, as an impressive Indian contingent is expected to head to the mecca of poker- Vegas. Many welcome changes have been incorporated to the schedule, events, timing as well as payouts making it more exciting than ever before. Indian players seem to be upbeat ahead of the start of the reputed series and once again hopes are poised for a bracelet for India, especially considering the impact and performances of our poker players across various international events in recent times.

Among the notables pros heading to the Sin City Las Vegas include Akash Malik, Kunal Patni, Amit Jain, Tarun Goyal, Sumit Sapra, DPT 15K PLO Champ Aditya Sushant, Paawan Bansal, Vikram Kumar and many other such big names.