MAPC Champion Apoorva Goel

Apoorva Goel

The inaugural Mahjong Aquarium Poker Championship (MAPC) Main Event finished on January 30 2017, crowning Apoorva Goel as its winner after a heads up deal that left runner-up Manish Kumar with consolation of INR 12.50 Lakhs while Goel took home the top prize worth INR 13.23 Lakhs. This is great news for enthusiasts who follow poker .

s isThe 33-year old was the first Indian to bring home a Spadie in 2013 and has been enduring a rather quiet past year, with interspersed cashes at various events, such as the 2016 World Series of Poker (WSOP). However, it all changed when he gave a stunning performance marked with perseverance to clinch the MAPC Main Event title.

The event attracted 109 entries through two entry flights. Day 1B ended with Mayank Agarwalbagging 269,100 in chips, a tad lower than Day 1A chip leader Aditya Sushant who came into Day 2 with a stack of 286,600.

27 players returned on Day 2 and within 15 minutes Sailesh Lohia departed, followed by Bharath Janardhan in the following minutes.

Action saw Sahil Agarwal raising to 9,000 and Amit Jain moved all-in. Agarwal called with card 1card 3 and Jain flipped over card 3card 3. The board ran card 3card 1card 2card 1card 2 granting Agarwal the pot, with Jain out at 24th place.

Players to miss out on the cash included Vinod Megalmani, Nitesh Maheshwari and Sumit Asrani.

Kalyan Chakravarthy, who had just made a runner-up finish at the MAPC High Roller, was unable to maintain the run of luck. On his last hand, Chakravarthy opened with card 2card 3 and Vivek Karkicalled from the small blind with card 3card 3. The board dealt card 3card 1card 3card 2card 3 and Karki took down the pot, eliminating Chakravarthy at 13th place.

Hours later a nine-handed final table was ready and leading the lot was Sahil Agarwal with 63,800 chips, with Apoorva at second placewith 625,000 and Day 1A chip leader Aditya Sushantat third with 490,000 in chips.

Goel began his move minutes later taking a big pot off Sahil and DD Thacker with his card 3card 3 on a board that featured card 3card 3card 3card 3card 1.

Mayank Agarwal was the first victim who exited at 9th place.

Goel next returned to eliminate Sahil Agarwal at fourth place and a deal was discussed at three-handed but failed. Talks for a heads-up deal started once Anup Agarwal was beaten by Manish Kumar at third place.

Heads up an ICM deal was struck with Manish Kumar netting INR 12,50,000 and Goel locking in INR 11,00,000 with INR 2,23,000 and the title left for the winner.


1 APOORVA GOEL ₹13,23,000
2 MANISH KUMAR ₹12,50,000
3 ANUP AGARWAL ₹6,54,000
4 SAHIL AGARWAL ₹5,45,000
6 ADITYA SUSHANT ₹3,27,000
7 DEVESH THAPAR ₹2,73,000
8 DD THACKER ₹2,18,000
9 MAYANK AGARWAL ₹1,64,000