PokerStars Festival Manila: Uday Bansal Ships Main Event Title

Uday Bansal

It was a special day for the Indian contingent at PokerStars Festival Manila after Uday Bansal was crowned the Main Event champion. Fans of poker in India can take pride in the fact that Indians have showcased a stellar display at the Asian Tournament.

Bansal conquered a strong field of 594 entries to walk away as the victor, taking home ₱4,676,000 (₹59.24 Lakhs) along with the championship trophy.

Final Table Review

Tien Than Nguyen was the first to exit at the final table of nine players. Bansal called Nguyen’s all-in shove possessing pocket sevens while Nguyen held king jack. With no help from the board, Nguyen departed in ninth place.

Tien’s compatriot Hoa Thinh Nguyen followed him in the eighth place soon after.

Kenneth Buck, the oldest player to make the final table ran out of steam exiting in seventh place.

Sam Razavi was the next to fall in sixth place when his ace-eight fell into the path of eventual runner-up Antii Halme’s pocket queens.

Jaehyun Lim had to leave in the fifth place while Mike Takayama was knocked out at fourth place.

Falcon had a great run in the event having dominated Day 1B, the vast majority of Day 2, however, he could not continue his run on the final table and was railed at third place.

Once the heads-up play was began, Halme and Bansal discussed the possibility of a deal. Both players soon came to a consensus and decided to chop most of the money leaving aside ₱300,000 and the trophy for the champion.

On the final hand Halme had just 1.45 million in chips compared to Bansal’s 16.3 million. When Bansal shoved on the button, Halme called for his tournament life and lost to end up as runner-up.

Final Table Standings (PHP)

1. Uday Bansal, - ₱4,676,000 *

2. Antti Halme, - ₱4,273,000 *

3. Michael Falcon - ₱2,456,000

4. Mike Takayama - ₱1,900,000

5. Jaehyun Lim, Korea, ₱1,500,000

6. Sam Razavi - ₱1,170,000

7. Kenneth Buck - ₱870,000

8. Hoa Thenh Nguyen - ₱596,000

9. Tien Than Nguyen - ₱470,000