Ryan Riess Regains His 2013 WSOP Main Event Victory For $716,088 By Taking Down WPT SHRP Finale

Ryan Riess Regains His 2013 WSOP Main Event Victory

Winning the World Series of Poker (WSOP) is a dream for every professional poker player in the world. Ryan Riess after winning it in 2013 earned the ‘fluke’ tag after failing perform in the following seasons.

Well, Ryan has broken the deadlock by winning the World Poker Tour (WPT) $10,000 Seminole Hard Rock Poker (SHRP) Finale for $716,088. This is Ryan’s biggest win after his victory of $8.3 million at the WSOP main event back in 2013.

A field of 349 players had enrolled in for the WPT SHRP Finale leading to a $3,315,500 prize amount which was shared by the top 44 finishers. Anthony Spinella, Dietrich Fast, Tony Dunst, and Sam Panzica were the ones who encashed before the final table.

Another instance were an Indian origin player from Texas, Kunal Patel finished on a high. Kunal just missed the final table, finishing on 13th place for $50,168.

Final Table Report

Alan Sternberg had the chip lead moving into the final table followed by Reiss. Action began just 18 hands into the final table, as Sternberg with pocket kings busted November niner Cliff Josephy who had ace-jack at sixth place.

Riess emerged to bust Tim West at fourth place, after Jason Koon exited at fifth. The hand saw West with king-jack. The board gave him a two pair, but at the same time improved Riess' ace-ten into a straight.

Next, Riess ousted Terry Schumacher with pocket nines overpowering the latter’s jack-seven.

Heads up was a swingy affair and lasted 117 hands, until the final hand arrived with Riess having against Sternberg’s. The board with gave Riess a full house to claim the title, as well as a $15,000 worth seat to the Monster WPT Tournament of Champions that begins today.

Final Standings

1. Ryan Riess – $716,088

2. Alan Sternberg – $491,081

3. Terry Schumacher – $315,726

4. Tim West – $204,466

5. Jason Koon – $157,599

6. Cliff Josephy – $130,370