Sumit Asrani made significant inroads at WSOP

Sumit Asrani

The World Series of Poker is now inching towards its end and continuing to showcase an amazing perseverance is Team India that continues with its amazing efforts to create history at the Mecca of Poker. Having already grabbed two bracelets in 2017, a large Indian contingent marched ahead for the dream grind with many new arrivals flocking in to attend the extravaganza.

The three starting flights are now in the record books and when the total count came in, the final count was a whopping 7,221 entries, making this the third biggest WSOP Main Event field in history!

The 7,221 entries generated a prize pool just shy of the $68 million mark and will see a large number of Indians coming back for Day 2. Among the top stacks are Aditya Agarwal and Rahul Byrraju alongside many other Indian challengers. Incidentally, Agarwal is eyeing his fifth consecutive WSOP Main Event cash with his best being in 2015 where he ran deep ending up 71st for 96,445.

Notable Poker pro Sumit Asrani made significant inroads at the event too, notching up 89,900 chips. Asrani specializes in poker in India and has made numerous impressive runs at events in India. Sumit won the coveted Indian Poker Championship Main Event back in 2015 and is eyeing a good finish in the Main Event.

Jagdeep Singh gathered 101,600 while newcomer Madan Kumar too claimed a decent 95,600 stack.

Romit Advani gathered just under 40,000 while Akash Malik secured one of the shorter stacks of 20,000. In an inspiring story of determination, Malik who was hospitalized previously during the day, still managed to arrive at the Rio in time to participate in the Main Event. Malik fought through pain, as he did not want to miss out on the Main Event.

Many Indians had made day two from previous two flights featuring Rahul Byrraju who arrived at Day 1A and secured a massive stack of 186,100. Satchit Kapur also entered the first starting flight and claimed 99,000 in chips.

The other Day 2 qualifiers feature Navkiran Singh, Amit Jain, Jasven Saigal, Akshit Madan, Yudhishthir Jaswal, Akshay Nasa, Samay Parikh, Nikita Luther, Muskan Sethi, Om Gahlot, Anil Adiani and Apoorva Goel.

Here is a complete list of Indian participants who have made Day 2: